“Small Town Witch”: A New Frontier in Graphic Novels

studiousWhen I first got my hands on a copy of Small Town Witch, I honestly couldn’t believe it. I had been following the work of Alex Singer and Jayd Aït-Kaci for years, and finally I had something tangible of theirs in my hands. A real book. A real graphic novel of their own style and their own design.

When I had first heard of the project, I was baffled that I had not run across their Kickstarter to raise funds for the book. I hadn’t been paying to their social media posts for some time, so when I saw the announcement, and checked the fundraiser, it was already over. But I was overjoyed to discover that months later the book was for sale through an online seller.

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MY FULL SPOILER-FREE REVIEW OF THE BOOK, CLICK THE PICTURE BELOW.

Attachment-1

There’s never been a better time for freelance artists and writers to spread their wings. We are living in a marvelous era where talent can come from literally anywhere, including the hidden corners of the web. And now that we have the technology to hear about and sponsor these artists in an instant, we are helping them make their dreams come true. That may be an understatement when it comes to Alex Singer and Jayd Aït-Kaci, as they have been successful for much longer than I have followed them. But it just brings me joy that so many online creative personalities have found the outlets and resources they need to bring something to fruition.

I remember the early days of the webcomic The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal, and it’s now a Harvey Award and Eisner Award nominee. I remember hearing about Andy Weir’s The Martian beginning it’s life online, and now it’s an award-winning book with a film adaptation. These are just two examples of artists who’ve made it, and now I would like to add Alex Singer and Jayd Aït-Kaci to the list with their publication of Small Town Witch.

Leave a Reply

