What’s This?! A Peter Pan/Alice in Wonderland Crossover?

unsure-minIt seems that Hollywood can’t get enough of reboots, and Disney is one of the worst offenders out there. However, compared to how the other studios are faring, Disney has been striking a chord with their audience. Their choice of reboots have been their most successful or classic properties, such as “The Jungle Book” and “Cinderella”. They also took a gamble with “Maleficent” and “Pete’s Dragon” coming out soon. We’ve also got “Beauty and the Beast” to look forward to along with a whole host of other animation-to-live-action projects that I bet you didn’t know about.

But the live action projects that have captured my undivided attention recently are the ones where other studios take a risk with the very fairytales that built the Disney company. As the title of this post has suggested, there’s a new film in the works about a Peter Pan and Alice in Wonderland crossover. And it’s not being done by Disney.

Let me break it down for you.

I first saw the news from Variety, after publishing a story about this project finally finding its director in Brenda Chapman. I was over the moon for two reasons:

  1. Brenda Chapman has been at the helm for a few of my favorite films, including “Brave” and “The Prince of Egypt” (of which I have raved about before). She has a few other Disney successes under her belt, even when she wasn’t in the director’s chair, so I know we can trust her with a cool story.
  2. I can’t remember the last time, or maybe ever in my life, that I have ever seen a crossover of two classics like this. It’s a bold risk, but I’m willing to ride this crazy train all the way.

The film, titled “Come Away,” is being showcased as a prequel to the beloved classics. Variety described the plot as follows:

“Marissa Kate Goodhill has written the script, based on the premise that the Alice and Peter characters were a brother and sister who had to deal with their older brother perishing in an accident and their parents’ despair over the tragedy — leading them ultimately to journey to Wonderland for Alice and Neverland for Peter.”

What a time to be alive. The recent rendition of Peter Pan, (simply titled “Pan”) was panned by critics, and Tim Burton is coming out with a sequel to his perfectly paired imagining of “Alice”, which leaves me wondering what they’ll do with these two properties mixed together. They aren’t two stories that you generally think would work well together, but when paired with a premise like that, you have piqued the interest of the audience.

As morbid as this may sound, I’m drawn to the drama that this story holds: losing a sibling, parents in distress and probably neglecting their children, leaving the children to their own devices. I’m expecting almost a “Wizard of Oz” feel or “Bridge to Terabithia”. While I’ve never been as personally interested in “Alice”, I love the “Peter Pan” world to death, and have loved every remake and stage play that has emerged from it, even the story of how it was imagined by J.M. Barrie in “Finding Neverland.”

I’m going to keep my eyes peeled for further news, but I’m actually more excited for this venture than I am for any of Disney’s other live action projects at this moment. Even though the source material is one we’ve heard a thousand times, it’s risks like these that keep the movies from going stale.

See the Variety article HERE.

Leave a Reply

