A Scary Screenplay for Halloween

so sadHalloween is next Saturday, and y’all are going to be out and about stealing candy from babies, or settling in for some scary movies with friends. Okay, maybe not stealing candy from babies (but I see you, you dumb teenagers who jack the whole bowl!), but regardless you want to be scared. Check out some scary video games, haunted mazes, haunted hay rides, haunted hotels, haunted houses, haunted cafeterias. You want to have fun! You know what I like to do?

Not get scared.

At least not in the physical sense.

Instead, I’m looking for some good horror books to read. I’m slowly working my way into the horror genre of fiction. I’ve read some great Gothic horror in college, and am borrowing copies of Stephen King, but I want something more. Check out the poll above and let me know what I should be reading next. Because, frankly I have no idea.

In the meantime, here’s something you may not have thought of, but I have enjoyed: reading the screenplays for horror movies. You may think, well that’s silly. In actuality, it’s similar to reading stageplays, just shorter and with more formatting on the page. But I can tell that reading, alone at night, can be every bit as suspenseful as the film itself. And if you’ve never seen the film, then your imagination fills in for the monsters.

I made the mistake of reading the script for “1408” alone in my apartment at night. That was…different. I didn’t think it would be that scary to read, but if you really think about it, then of course it needs to have that thrill, that tension. How else would a screenwriter be able to convey the concept of their story to a movie director? Producer? Hell, even the actors.

I’ve made a list of some horror movie scripts that have left me with chills, and included some that I haven’t even read yet! I recommend getting together with your friends on Halloween night to do dramatic readings.

Horror Screenplays to Try

  • 1408
  • Se7en (“What’s in the box??”)
  • Alien
  • Dawn of the Dead (2004 version)
  • The Night of the Hunter
  • The Mist
  • Halloween (a classic)

Don’t forget my poll at the top of this post!

Leave a Reply

