What’s On My Playlist? Music for Fans

hmmIf you’ve meandered through my other posts so far, you’ll see that I’ve also given some personal tips on writing that have helped me. Passing on this knowledge has been fun, but one aspect that I want to share is music. Now, I’ve already devoted a post to how important music can be while you’re writing, but I didn’t get to share much about music that you can enjoy during reading or put together afterwards as a fan. In other words, introducing the fan playlist!

One author I love (whom I will share at a later date, I promise!) always publicizes her “chapter playlists.” These are typically a list of songs, where each one can summarize what’s happening in that chapter or the tone of that chapter. She would release the chapter playlist for each new book prior to the book’s release, setting off a storm of speculation. It’s been fun with each book she’s written, something that helps her bond with readers as they swap stories about what each song could mean for the beloved characters.

Then there’s the playlists put together by fans. These are a lot of fun to listen to, and always expose me to new songs and new artists. Sometimes they’re based on ships, others based on the book as a whole, and sometimes based on chapters like the chapter playlists I mentioned above. Fans have taken advantage of unique services like YouTube playlist-maker, Spotify, and 8Track to create and share their fan playlists. I have tons of playlists on my Spotify inspired by books I’ve read (the ones for Red Rising and Bartimaeus are very looooong), but I’ve always wanted to share them! 

Today, I want to start a new segment here, and slowly start introducing you all to fan playlists I’ve created, inspired by my favorite books. I hope this will inspire you all to share songs that have impacted your reading experience, whether they be pop hits or symphonic sounds. If you’ve made a fan playlist of your own, don’t keep it a secret! Share it with the world, so that we all can create unique reading experiences for each other.

I’ve recently been re-reading the first two books of the Captive Prince trilogy by C.S. Pacat (highly recommended and will analyze about at a later date), in anticipation of the third book coming out in February. I put together a playlist of my own that I think reflects the tumultuous relationship between the two main characters, Damen and Laurent, as well as the rocky situation of their countries being on the brink of war. If you’re a fan of these books, check it out below!

Princes Rising: A “Captive Prince” Fan Playlist

Musical Artist Song Title
Bring Me the Horizon Throne
We Came As Romans The World I Used to Know
Liam Bailley Villain
Rag’n’Bone Man Wolves
Crystal Fighters Follow
Christina Perri Run
Donna Missal Keep Lying
Jamie N Commons Lead Me Home
Seinabo Sey Younger (acoustic)
Ed Sheeran Bloodstream
Bea Miller Force of Nature
Galantis Gold Dust
Jon Bellion Carry Your Throne
Mikky Ekko Who Are You, Really?
Imagine Dragons I’m So Sorry
Fletcher War Paint
Willy Moon Get Up (What You Need)
Of Monsters and Men Crystals
The Weeknd Real Life
J2 feat. Sizzy Rocket Lean On Me
Raphael Lake ft. Thomas Collins Live Your Life

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I do this as well! I do playlists of usually five songs for books every Wednesday 🙂

    Like

    1. majestatic says:

      Awesome! I’ll have to check those out. Nice to meet a fellow Captive Prince fan as well 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I only found the series because I keep seeing one of my Tumblr followers tagging posts with damen and laurent, and I was curious, so I ended up devouring both books in like a day. Oops. #sorrynotsorry

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

