Dream Casting for “Golden Son”

0Let this be the end of the once-a-month posts!

At the time of writing this, NYCC has started and a very familiar book series is hanging nice and high like a mural: the Red Rising trilogy! Our favorite story that takes appealing tropes, great characters, sci-fi, high-octane action, and twists it until it hurts and we cry uncle. For those who managed to snag some of the leaflets floating around the con, with the first three chapters of Morning Star…I am beyond jealous.

In honor of Red Rising making such a ‘rise’ at NYCC, I decided to do a Part II to my dream casting for the trilogy and started thinking of stars who could fill the roles of Golden Son characters.

If you haven’t checked it out already, I did a Dream Casting for most of the major characters in my previous Red Rising post HERE. This post is dedicated to characters who were either introduced in Golden Son or played a more important or larger role in this book.

Commence with the casting!

Victra au Julii – Jenna Coleman

I’d always pictured Victra as someone who was petite, but dangerous. She’s the sister of Antonia as well (whom I casted with Emma Watson), but I believe that Jenna Coleman can exude that underlying danger while being flirty on the surface.

 

Tactus au Rath – Diego Boneta

Tactus is so important to Darrow’s story in Golden Son, but I wanted someone where you wouldn’t quite be able to tell whose side they’re on. Diego has played a variety of roles, good and bad, so he’s a great chameleon.

 

Lorn au Arcos – Antonio Banderas

Silly as it may seem, but I always pictured Lorn as an aging Spanish swordsman, like Zorro. Hence…the actor who played Zorro himself.

 

Octavia au Lune – Sanaa Lathan/ Charlize Theron

 

Alright, I’m going to be blunt: for Octavia you need an actress who’s gorgeous, but can also pull off a really good resting bitch face. I love Sanaa Lathan as a sultry, power-woman, and Charlize Theron has also proven herself to be a chameleon; her role as Vickers in “Prometheus” was fantastic and close to how I pictured Octavia to be.

Aja au Grimmus – Thandie Newton

Thandie Newton is so good at playing complicated, grey-area female characters. She has this way of making you sympathize for the villain, especially in her more sci-fi (“Riddick”) and action roles (“Mission Impossible”).

Nero au Augustus – Lee Pace

Nero is powerful, menacing, but is also deceptively charming; basically a lot of the roles that Lee Pac has already played, especially as Thranduil in “The Hobbit” films.

 

Kavax au Telemanus – Ray Winstone

Looking for actors with that big barrel-chested magnificence was tough for me, but I’ve loved Ray Winstone in everything he does.

 

Daxo au Telemanus – Will Poulter

Will Poulter solidified himself as a budding action star in “The Maze Runner” and I can totally picture him as Daxo with his father, Kavax, just kicking ass and taking names.

 

Karnus au Bellona – Richard Madden

Karnus is a douchebag; ‘nuff said. And while most remember Richard Madden from “Game of Thrones” fame, Richard Madden also has a wide range and can pull off the revenge mindset pretty well.

 

Lady Bellona – Cate Blanchett

I honestly am not sure why, but I did picture Ms. Blanchett as the matriarch of the Bellona clan, simply because I know her range of acting, and the net is wide.

Misc. Characters:

Leto – Freddie Stroma

Pliny – Ryan Gage

Cagney au Bellona – Chloe Grace Moretz

So, what do you think? Do you agree? Did you picture other actors entirely? I want to know about it! Sound off in the comments below, and I’ll be back next week with a new topic.

Leave a Reply

